Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
 

1940

“翅膀 提示”,马瑟 场的 每周 报纸 流通的 每一个 星期六开始八月 1941年论文 供应 用途 提供 新闻,传播 方向 数据,并提高 士气。 Ç ontributors下士 多丽丝 一天的的第799次 WAC 总部 有限公司。和萨克拉门托的 自己的 上尉 韦恩 蒂博

大教堂的下层,托马斯阿奎那图书馆,成为远离家乡的男女服务人员急需的社交中心,定期安排娱乐和社交聚会,经常在本出版物中宣布。

“明天早上,在圣托马斯阿奎那图书馆,一个天主教男子团体将接待参加圣餐早餐的军人和妇女。萨克拉门托圣母无原罪教堂圣名协会将提供免费餐点。特别邀请马瑟菲尔德天主教徒享用早餐,并参加 1115 K 的晚间节目。从每周日晚上 8:30 开始,与出席的初级礼仪小姐总是井井有条。”

1950

五十年代,巴比奇和刘易斯家族捐赠了大教堂正面下层的优雅雕像。上层壁龛仍然是空的。

1960

执事恢复市中心的“时间”

印于 1969 年 11 月 13 日的《天主教先驱报》

 

对于那些认为只有奇迹或一蒲式耳美元才能让大教堂钟楼时钟再次运行的人来说,他们认为是错误的。简直就是一个好奇又懂一些喜欢爬高梯子的年轻人的案例

.

多年前,当钟表可以说是“弃鬼”时,一位修理工报出了天文数字的价格来修理钟表。市中心的上班族和购物者不得不改掉在大教堂时钟的四个面之一上查看时间的习惯

.

现在,感谢约翰·波尔牧师,一位在大教堂教区担任学徒的按立执事,时钟再次恢复正常运行。

 

几周前,约翰爬上钟楼,亲眼看看钟出了什么问题。他在钟表机构中发现了一根断了的辐条,并把它交给了他的父亲,一位机械师。他的父亲把断了的辐条炖了起来,约翰把它重新装进了大教堂的钟里。在对时钟进行了良好的清洁和上油之后,它再次为 11 街和 K 街的路人敲响了一刻钟。  (scd.org/archives)

press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
1/1

  来自宣传手册:

百年文艺复兴

二世纪的窗户

“1889 年 6 月 30 日,圣体大教堂的奉献仪式是一个重大事件,标志着 作为萨克拉门托教区生活和见证的一部分。大教堂最引人注目的特色是其欧式彩色玻璃窗。今天仍然是教堂的重要组成部分,这些窗户纪念那个时代捐赠它们的公民。克罗克、斯坦福、德怀尔等名字,以及圣玛丽教堂、弗吉尼亚城和哥伦布骑士团等组织。在奥地利制造,窗户采用了更古老的玻璃,据信是在 15 世纪制造的。 1971年的内部装修在阳台上增加了玫瑰窗,在大门和祭坛上增加了其他几块面板。

不幸的是,大教堂的大部分玻璃从未打算成为永久性的。上中殿和阳台的重要且高度可见的窗户开口充满了印有菱形图案的普通玻璃。 《1889 年记录》中关于新建筑的一份报告自信地说:“窗户现在用普通玻璃上釉,以与横断面和圣所丰富的窗户相呼应。”

1928 年,基恩主教提议更换这些“临时”窗户,但他那年的去世和当时的其他事件结束了他的计划。多年来,这些临时窗户一直在老化。铅被腐蚀了,油漆已经磨损到这样的程度,以至于修复被证明是不可行的。

为庆祝其一百周年,圣体大教堂委托安装了一套新的替换窗户。这些窗户由加利福尼亚艺术家 Susan van Heukelom 设计,由马萨诸塞州北亚当斯的 Cummings 工作室建造,自 1920 年代以来,他们一直与大教堂的玻璃有关。四十二扇窗户以圣经为主题,反映了大教堂的周年重建工作以及加利福尼亚土地和生活的各个方面。申命记和传道书的段落,蚀刻在窗户的大型、彩色、非代表性形式的深色条中,是窗户图像的灵感来源。他们的个人作品与这些段落的内容相呼应,为他们熟悉的主题提供了视觉解释。窗户的精致、创新风格很容易与剩余的早期玻璃以及大教堂的其他永久性特征融为一体。

几代人以来,大教堂让前来祈祷和朝拜的人们敬畏。我们被委托作为这个上帝之家的看守人。我们这一代人有机会用传统的启蒙象征来保护和加强这座建筑,这样它就可以继续成为后代生活的一部分和见证。”

1980

1970

有多少人意识到世界上最独特的艺术品之一已经挂在圣体大教堂的墙壁上 80 多年?它是拉斐尔著名的西斯廷圣母像仅有的两幅这样的复制品之一,据最近几个月一直在修复这幅画的约翰·B·马修(John B Matthew)说,这是一件真正的“宝藏”,鲜为人知。 “据我所知,”马修解释说,由于他是专家,他的话很重要,“这幅复制品和它的双胞胎都挂在斯坦福大学,标志着艺术界历史上唯一一次获准允许复制制作成与原版相同的尺寸。”

 

在这种情况下,它是一个 8 x 10 英尺的复制品,而且,根据马修的说法,“一件出色的作品,由一位优秀的画家 Verbino 完成,得到了奥地利皇帝的许可,他在大教堂的复制品时拥有原件于 1800 年代后期投入使用。”当 EB Crocker 夫人前往奥地利为帕特里克·马诺格主教的大教堂购买彩色玻璃窗时,她的朋友 Leland Stanford 夫人陪同。后者请求皇帝允许制作两份副本,一份给大教堂,一份给大学,他将任务分配给维尔比诺。

阅读Eleanor Doyle 的整篇文章,发表于 7 月 23 日,

1970 年发行的《天主教先驱报》 (scd.org/archives)

1962-1965 年的第二届梵蒂冈理事会授权进行了一些影响大教堂的变革。改革强调群众更多地参与弥撒。圣餐栏杆被拆除,一个新的祭坛移到了圆顶下方的平台上。管风琴和合唱团的座位从阁楼搬到了主楼层。教堂祭坛被拆除,忏悔室被转移到两侧的教堂。

 

1939年的主祭坛移至右侧的小教堂,成为圣体的存放处,左侧的小教堂安置了洗礼池。灵修站被移至耳堂。长椅被拆除,地毯和照明被添加,玫瑰窗用比利时玻璃翻新。

大教堂最高的尖顶从 K 街上的建筑群中窥视,这张 K 街购物中心喷泉的照片展示了 70 年代市中心区的城市改造,包括大教堂周围,以迎合行人,希望能带来更多的人市中心的购物和餐饮。

萨克拉门托在 70 年代后期经历了发展和旅游业的热潮。

部分照片和相关文字以及期刊经萨克拉门托公共图书馆特藏许可

1940

"Wing Tips", Mather Field’s weekly newspaper circulated every Saturday. Started in August, 1941 the paper serves three purposes: it provides news, disseminates orientation data, and heightens morale. Contributors to the paper are Corporal Doris Day of the 799th WAC Headquarter Co. and Sacramento’s own Cpl. Wayne Thiebaud.

The lower level of the cathedral, the Thomas Aquinas Library, became a much needed social center for service men and women far from home, with regularly scheduled entertainment and social gatherings, often announced in this publication.

"A CATHOLIC men's group will be host to servicemen and women attending the Communion breakfasts in the St. Thomas Aquinas Library, below the Cathedral of the Blessed Sacrament, tomorrow morning. Following the 9 and 10 o'clock masses in the Cathedral, the Men of the Holy Name Society of the Immaculate Conception Church of Sacramento will serve the free meal. Mather Field Catholics are especially invited to breakfast and also to take part in the evening program at 1115 K. From 8:30 P.M. every Sunday games and refreshments with junior hostesses in attendance are always in order."

1950

In the fifties, the Babich and Lewis families donated the elegant statues in the lower tier of the Cathedral's facade. The upper tier niches remain empty.

1960

DEACON RESTORES DOWNTOWN ‘TIME’

Printed in the November 13, 1969 issue of the Catholic Herald

 

For those who concluded that only a miracle or a bushel of dollars could ever get the Cathedral bell tower clock running again, they figured wrong. It was simply a case of a young man with curiosity and some know-how who likes to climb high ladders

.

Years ago, when the clock “gave up the ghost” as it were, a repairman quoted an astronomical price to repair the timepiece. Office workers and shoppers in the downtown area had to break themselves of the habit of checking the time on one of the four faces of the cathedral clock

.

Now, thanks to Rev Mr John Boll, an ordained deacon serving his apprenticeship in the Cathedral parish, the clock is back in running order once again.

 

Some weeks ago, John climbed up into the bell tower to see for himself what was wrong with the clock. He found a broken spoke in the clock mechanism which he took to his father, a machinist. His father braised the broken spoke and John reinstalled it in the cathedral clock. After a good cleaning and oiling of the clock, it is once again pealing out the quarter-hour for passersby on 11th and K Streets.  (scd.org/archives)

1/1

 From a promotional pamphlet:

Centennial Renaissance

Windows for a Second Century

"The dedication of the Cathedral of the Blessed Sacrament, on June 30, 1889, was a momentous event which marked the  beginning of its first century as part of the life and witness of the Diocese of Sacramento. The Cathedral's most striking feature was its European stained glass windows. Still an important part of the church today, these windows memorialize the citizens of that era who donated them. Names such as Crocker, Stanford, Dwyer, and organizations as well, such as St. Mary's Church, Virginia City and the Knights of Columbus. Made in Austria, the windows incorporate even older glass believed to have been made in the 15th century. The renovation of the interior in 1971 added the rose window in the balcony and several other panels over the main doors and altar.

Unfortunately, much of the Cathedral's glass was never intended to be permanent. The important and highly visible window opening of the upper nave and balcony were filled with plain glass stenciled in diamond patterns. A report on the new building in The Record of 1889 states confidently: " The windows now glazed with ordinary glass to correspond with the rich windows of the transepts and sanctuary."

In 1928, Bishop Keane proposed the replacement of these "temporary" windows, but his death that year and other events of the time brought an end to his plan. Over the years these temporary windows have continued to age. The lead has corroded and the paint has worn off to such an extent that restoring proved to be unfeasible.

In celebration of its one hundredth anniversary, the Cathedral of the Blessed Sacrament has commissioned a new set of replacement windows. The windows were designed by Susan van Heukelom, a California artist, and built by Cummings Studio of North Adams, Massachusetts, who have been associated with the Cathedral's glass since the 1920's. The forty-two windows take as their subject Biblical themes reflecting the Cathedral's anniversary rebuilding effort, and aspects of California land and life. Passages form Deuteronomy and Ecclesiastes, etched in darkened bars across the window's large, colorful, nonrepresentational forms, serve as the inspiration of the window's imagery. Their individual compositions echo the content of these passages, providing a visual interpretation of their familiar themes. The delicate, innovative style of the windows blends easily with the remaining earlier glass, and with the other permanent features of the Cathedral.

For generations, the Cathedral has inspired awe in the people who have come to pray and worship. We have been entrusted as the caretakers of this House of God. Our generation has the opportunity to protect and enhance this building with the traditional symbols of enlightenment so that it can continue to be a part of the life and witness of generations to come."

1980

1970

How many people realize one of the most unique works of art in the world has been hanging on the wall of the Cathedral of the Blessed Sacrament for 80 some years? It is one of only two such copies of Rafael’s famous Sistine Madonna, and according to John B Matthew, whose task it has been in recent months to restore the painting, it is a real “treasure”, one that too few people know about. “To my knowledge,” Matthew explains, and since he is an expert his words carry importance, “this copy and its twin, hanging at Stanford University, marks the only time in the history of the art world that permission was granted to allow copies to be made in the same size as the original.”

 

In this case, it is an 8 by 10-foot reproduction, and again, according to Matthew, “an excellent work, done by Verbino, a fine painter, with the permission of the Emperor of Austria who owned the original when the Cathedral’s copy was commissioned in the late 1800s.” This came about when Mrs. E.B. Crocker, who was traveling to Austria to purchase stained glass windows for Bishop Patrick Manogue’s Cathedral, was accompanied by her friend, Mrs. Leland Stanford. The latter begged permission of the Emperor to have two copies made, one for the cathedral and one for the university, and he assigned the task to Verbino.

Read entire article by Eleanor Doyle, printed in the July 23,

1970 issue of the Catholic Herald (scd.org/archives)

The Second Vatican Council in 1962-1965 mandated a number of changes that affected the Cathedral. Reforms emphasized greater participation of the assembled in the Mass. The communion railing was removed and a new altar moved to a platform centered under the dome. The organ and choir seating moved from the loft to the main floor. Chapel altars were removed and the confessionals were relocated to the two side chapels.

 

The 1939 main altar was moved to the chapel on the right and became the repository of the Blessed Sacrament, and the chapel on the left housed the baptismal font. Devotional stations were moved to the transepts. Pews were removed, carpeting and lighting were added and the Rose Window was refurbished with Belgian glass.

With the tallest spire of the cathedral just peeking over the buildings on K Street, this photo of the K Street Mall Fountain shows the urban renovation of the downtown area in the 70's, including around the cathedral, catering to pedestrians in hopes of bringing more people downtown for shopping and dining.

Sacramento experienced an upsurge in development and tourism in the late 70's.

Some photos and related text, and periodicals are by permission from the Special Collections of the Sacramento Public Library

1889

2020

Cathedral of the Blessed Sacrament

1019 11th Street, Sacramento, CA  95814

916-444-3071, Fax 916-443-2749

Religious Education 916-444-5364

blessed@cathedralsacramento.org

cathedralsacramento.org

Contact Us

Text App to phone number 88202

(c) 2020 Cathedral of the Blessed Sacrament | All rights reserved | Privacy Policy