Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
top of page

About Us


The Cathedral of the Blessed Sacrament is considered one of three of the most historically significant buildings in Sacramento. Built at time when Sacramento was transitioning from a mining town into a capitol city, it took the kind of dedication and fortitude for which the early pioneers of California were known.  Today we are a vibrant and diverse Catholic parish serving the heart of the city.  Come to mass or join one of our many ministries.

Bishop Jaime Soto
Bishop Myron Cotta

Bishop of the

Sacramento Diocese

Auxiliary Bishop of the Sacramento Diocese

Cathedral 1 cf sm.jpg

The Cathedral of the Blessed Sacrament is home to the bishop's cathedra (Latin, "chair", from Greek, καθέδρα kathédra, "seat") or bishop's seat. It is a symbol of the bishop's teaching authority in the Catholic Church. We serve as the mother church for the Diocese of Sacramento.

Pastoral & Administrative Staff

Father Michael O’Reilly, Pastor/Rector

Father Abraham Chiu, Chinese Mass

Father Mémo Hernandez, In Residence

Father Michael Kiernan, In Residence

Deacon Omar Bardales

Deacon Gary Brys, Business Manager

Deacon Edgar Hilbert

Sister Lisa Marie Doty, FDCC,

Director of Faith Formation and Education

Tom Waddock, Plant Manager

Rex Rallanka, Director of Liturgy & Music

Michael Ognisty, Sacristan

Victoria Ramos, Secretary

Katie McAllister, Bookkeeper

Titi Kila, Wedding Coordinator

Chris Houlemard, Bulletin Editor/Webmaster

Finance Council

Robert Ingenito, Chair

Janet Bardales

Nancy Fairbanks

Michael Pease

Parish Pastoral Council

Joey Martinez, Chair

Russell Almaraz

Esteban Arellano

Maria Balakshin

Andrea Martin-Borges

Maria Rosario

Aileen Rasmussen

Jose Solis

Jeff Weiss

Richard Zacaroli

bottom of page